top of page

Our People

The People Behind The Smart Ports Alliance

As a non-profit organisation, The Smart Ports Alliance is governed by an Oversight Board.  Our day-to-day work, events and programmes are managed by our staff, who apply our own values and principles to deliver value to the community. 


Kevin Martin


Rosy Staines

Head of Digital and Engagement

Board of Directors

As a non-profit organisation funded by membership and sponsorship, our duty is to the community we serve. 


We appoint a Board of Directors made up of representatives from each of three groups - Ports and Terminals, Technology Providers and Other Interests (Academia, Industry Groups) to ensure that the organisation: -

  • Works according to the Values and Principles that we promote in pursuit of our goals

  • takes into consideration the input of the membership to ensure that activities, resources, tools and external relationships remain focused on the key tasks of bridging the gap between business and technology, and advancing technology adoption across the industry

  • Exercises fiscal responsibility and delivers value for its members at all times 

The inaugural group was nominated by the founding directors of the organisation.  Directors serve for a two-year term, and a maximum of six years.  Nominations for for the 2024-2026 term will take place in early 2024.

Matt Beeton

CEO, Port of Tyne



David Holmes

CEO, Warrenpoint Port, Northern Ireland

Wouter Van Bockhaven

Professor, Antwerp Management School

Dale White

Client Strategic Partner, Getronics



bottom of page